Where is 117th Congress? (2023)

Where is 117th Congress?

It convened in Washington, D.C., on January 3, 2021, during the final weeks of Donald Trump's presidency and the first two years of Joe Biden's presidency and ended on January 3, 2023.

How many houses are in the 117th Congress?

In the 117th Congress, the current party alignments as of December 13, 2022,6 are as follows: House of Representatives: 222 Democrats (including 4 Delegates), 215 Republicans (including 1 Delegate and the Resident Commissioner of Puerto Rico), and 4 vacant seats.

How many laws has the 117th Congress passed?

The 117th United States Congress, which began on January 3, 2021, and ended on January 3, 2023, enacted 362 public laws and 3 private laws.

What is the 117th Congress bill?

5376 - 117th Congress (2021-2022): Inflation Reduction Act of 2022 | Congress.gov | Library of Congress.

What has the 117th Congress done?

Senator Feinstein helped secure: $3.37 billion for wildfire risk reduction projects in California including hazardous fuels reduction, controlled burns, community wildfire defense grants, collaborative landscape forest restoration projects and funding for firefighting resources.

Who is the leader of the 117th Congress?

About Parties and Leadership | Majority and Minority Leaders
CongressMajority Leader
114th Congress (2015–2017)Mitch McConnell (R-KY)
115th Congress (2017–2019)Mitch McConnell (R-KY)
116th Congress (2019–2021)Mitch McConnell (R-KY)
117th Congress (2021–2023) 17 17Charles E. Schumer (D-NY)
63 more rows

How many members are in the 117th House of Representatives?

There are currently 435 voting representatives. Five delegates and one resident commissioner serve as non-voting members of the House, although they can vote in committee.

When was the 117th Congress elected?

Members were sworn into office on January 3, 2021

After winning their elections and weeks of preparation, Members-elect were sworn in as Members of the U.S. House of Representatives after the 117th Congress was gaveled into session at noon on Sunday, January 3, 2021.

Who is the youngest Senate in 117th Congress?

Jon Ossoff (D-GA) is the youngest sitting senator at 35, replacing Josh Hawley, who at 41 was the youngest senator of the 116th Congress. Ossoff is the youngest person elected to the U.S. Senate since Don Nickles in 1980. The average age of senators is now higher than in the past.

Are we in the 118th Congress?

The 118th United States Congress began on January 3, 2023. There were seven new senators (two Democrats, five Republicans) and 74 new representatives (34 Democrats, 40 Republicans), as well as one new delegate (a Republican), at the start of its first session.

How many US Senators does it take to pass a bill?

In the Senate, the bill is assigned to another committee and, if released, debated and voted on. Again, a simple majority (51 of 100) passes the bill.

How many bills have been passed in 2022?

A new analysis from nonpartisan legislative staff shows that 94.48 percent of bills that passed the legislature in 2022 were bipartisan. Of the 308 total bills that passed both chambers in 2022, 291 had the 'yes' vote of at least one Republican senator or representative.

What is the meaning of Amendment 17?

Seventeenth Amendment Explained. The Senate of the United States shall be composed of two Senators from each State, elected by the people thereof, for six years; and each Senator shall have one vote.

Who is the minority whip 117th Congress?

Dean: Hal Rogers (R), KY
Oldest: Hal Rogers (R), KY
Speaker: Pelosi (D), CA
Majority Leader: Hoyer (D), MDMinority Leader: McCarthy (R), CA
Majority Whip: Clyburn (D), SCMinority Whip: Scalise (R), LA
19 more rows

What term of Congress are we in 2022?

Dates of Sessions of the Congress
CongressSessionBegin Date
1172 1Jan 3, 2022 Jan 3, 2021
1162 1Jan 3, 2020 Jan 3, 2019
1152 1Jan 3, 2018 Jan 3, 2017
1142 1Jan 4, 2016 Jan 6, 2015
58 more rows

Who holds the House in 2022?

The Republican Party, led by Kevin McCarthy, won control of the House, defeating Nancy Pelosi and the Democratic Party, who had held a majority in the House since 2019, as a result of the 2018 elections.

Who is the Clerk of the House of the 117th Congress?

Cheryl L. Johnson was sworn in as Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives for the 117th Congress by Speaker Nancy Pelosi on January 3, 2021.

Who has more power the Congress of the president?

In present day government, Congress is more powerful than the President. The Legislative Branch, or Congress, is the second branch of the United States Federal Government. Congress is made up of two houses called the Senate and the House of Representatives.

Who are the 4 leaders of Congress?

With the Republicans holding a majority of seats and the Democrats holding a minority, the current leaders are Majority Leader Steve Scalise of Louisiana and Majority Whip Tom Emmer of Minnesota, Minority Leader Hakeem Jeffries of New York, and Minority Whip Katherine Clark of Massachusetts.

What is the number of the next Congress?

January 9, 2023: Deliberation on the Rules package for the 118th Congress begins.

How many black senators are there today?

Sixty-two of the 186 African Americans who have served in Congress are current Members—59 in the House and three in the Senate. In total, there have been 176 Black Members of the House of Representatives and eleven Senators. One has served in both chambers.

What is the average age of the 117th Congress?

The average age of Members of the House at the beginning of the 117th Congress was 58.4 years; of Senators, 64.3 years. The 117th Congress is made up of 437 Representatives (not including 4 vacant seats) and 100 Senators, with Democrats holding the House majority.

When did the 118th Congress begin?

Members were sworn into office on January 7, 2023

Members-elect were sworn in as Members of the U.S. House of Representatives for the 118th Congress. Early Saturday morning, on January 7, 2023, Representative Kevin McCarthy (CA-20) was elected Speaker of the House.

When was the first Congress?

The Indian National Congress conducted its first session in Bombay from 28 to 31 December 1885 at the initiative of retired Civil Service officer Allan Octavian Hume.

Who is the oldest senator today?

At 89, Feinstein is the oldest sitting U.S. senator and member of Congress. In March 2021, she became the longest-serving U.S. senator from California, surpassing Hiram Johnson. Upon the death of Don Young, she became the oldest sitting member of Congress.

You might also like
Popular posts
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Virgilio Hermann JD

Last Updated: 02/12/2023

Views: 6163

Rating: 4 / 5 (41 voted)

Reviews: 88% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Virgilio Hermann JD

Birthday: 1997-12-21

Address: 6946 Schoen Cove, Sipesshire, MO 55944

Phone: +3763365785260

Job: Accounting Engineer

Hobby: Web surfing, Rafting, Dowsing, Stand-up comedy, Ghost hunting, Swimming, Amateur radio

Introduction: My name is Virgilio Hermann JD, I am a fine, gifted, beautiful, encouraging, kind, talented, zealous person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.